IPRD Solutions: Innovation in digital technologies is transforming entire industries in the developed world. IPRD believes that such innovations can also transform the way that healthcare is delivered in the developing world, resulting in greater impact at lower cost

L'innovation en matière de technologies numériques transforme des industries entières dans les pays développés.

IPRD Solutions estime que ces innovations peuvent également transformer la manière dont les soins de santé sont fournis dans les pays en développement, se traduisant par un impact plus important à moindre coût.

Nous développons et adaptons des technologies de santé

numériques à fort impact pour un bien social durable.

IPRD Solutions a construit un vaste réseau de professionnels de santé de premier plan dans les communautés de la recherche, du commerce et de la santé publique, pour contribuer à identifier et à mettre au point des technologies de santé numériques innovantes ayant un fort potentiel d'impact sur la santé mondiale.

IPRD Solutions develops and adapts high-impact digital health technologies for sustained social good

Notre équipe collabore étroitement avec les patients et les professionnels de santé des secteurs public et privé dans le but d'innover en créant des solutions disruptives désormais rendues possibles par la marchandisation de masse de puissantes capacités matérielles et logicielles numériques.

Nous nous efforçons de comprendre les défis uniques de la création de solutions qui servent les patients à grande échelle.

Logo_Home_Icon.png
Nous avons construit des centres d'innovation situés stratégiquement à proximité des utilisateurs, permettant la mise au point de solutions hautement localisées, une résolution rapide des problèmes et une rétroaction directe, tout en tirant parti des capacités technologiques de base que nous développons, conçues de façon à pouvoir être déployées de façon évolutive, n'importe où.
Notre siège se trouve à New York. Nos centres d'innovation sont installés à Bangalore et Johannesburg, et les projets sont répartis sur les 3 sites.
IPRD Solutions Johannesburg office

NOS ACTIVITÉS

IPRD Solutions has innovation centers located strategically close to users, enabling the development of highly-localized solutions, rapid problem solving, and direct feedback, while at the same time leveraging core technological capabilities we are developing that are designed for scalable deployment anywhere.
IPRD Solutions SmartHealth platform capabilities can manage mass patient vaccination in pop-up vaccination centers in LMI countriesCOVID-19

La COVID-19 a mis en lumière les forces et les faiblesses des systèmes de santé à travers le monde.

 

IPRD a mis à profit sa grande expérience et ses capacités techniques dans les domaines où elles pouvaient être les plus profitables.

 

IPRD a effectué un travail consultatif sur les normes de traçage de contacts par Bluetooth, la plateforme de surveillance, de rapport et d'analyse MITRE disponible au niveau national, a travaillé à la mise au point de normes de certificat de vaccination et a adapté les capacités de sa plateforme SmartHealth pour développer SmartHealth RECOVERS (de l'anglais « Rapidly-deployable and Extensible COvid-19 Vaccination opERationational Solution »), conçue dans le but de gérer la vaccination de masse des patients dans les centres de vaccination éphémères dans les pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche inférieure (PRITI).

 
IPRD_Identity 1_Fr.png

Connaître l'identité d'un patient est essentiel pour suivre ses antécédents médicaux au fil du temps. Cette capacité est particulièrement importante pour la détection précoce des maladies, car elle permet de comparer les informations actuelles à une base de référence, pour le traitement de maladies chroniques telles que le VIH et la tuberculose, ainsi que pour réduire les pertes de suivi et éviter de nouveaux tests coûteux. Cependant, dans de nombreux PRITI (pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche inférieure) en particulier, les identifiants n'existent pas, ne sont pas uniques ou sont liés à des registres nationaux qui n'ont rien à voir avec les soins de santé. Ceci peut générer des craintes, perçues et réelles, chez la population d'un pays, en lien avec des problèmes tels que le manque d'inclusion, pour les populations migratrices proches des frontières par exemple, et le potentiel de dépassement et d'utilisation abusive des identifiants par le gouvernement.

 

Nous avons mis au point une approche décentralisée de l'identification qui se concentre sur la mise en correspondance des patients et qui ne dépend pas de la coordination ou de la liaison avec des systèmes centralisés ou des registres nationaux, bien que ceux-ci puissent être utilisés s'ils sont disponibles. Dans le même temps, l'approche permet aux infrastructures de soins indépendantes ou même aux patients eux-mêmes de fournir à d'autres l'accès à leurs informations de mise en correspondance, avec la permission du patient, pour permettre la mise en correspondance des patients dans des environnements divers et non connectés.

 

Nous avons en outre mis au point une approche appelée Biométrie fédérée, qui élimine l'agrégation d'un grand nombre de données biométriques détenues par un seul dépositaire, et réduit voire élimine la nécessité de conformité au RGPD et à d'autres réglementations, qui ont tous deux été des obstacles réels et perçus au déploiement de la biométrie pour gérer les cas d'utilisation importants en santé mondiale à grande échelle.

 

PLATEFORMES

IPRD_Identity 2_Fr.png

Le fait d'adopter une approche de plateforme pour une solution de santé numérique permet de disposer d'un degré élevé de configurabilité, sans qu'il soit nécessaire de redévelopper les modules fonctionnels de base. Une plateforme unique peut prendre en charge divers secteurs verticaux de la santé, tels que la santé maternelle, le VIH, la planification familiale et le paludisme, tout en partageant des informations communes telles que les informations sur l'identité ou les enquêtes familiales. Cela permet aux solutions de santé numériques d'évoluer tout en maintenant la qualité des soins et en réduisant les coûts.

Dans le même temps, les solutions de plateforme sont souvent développées de manière organique, en mettant l'accent sur une géographie ou une verticale de la santé en particulier. En outre, la formation et d'autres processus peuvent déjà avoir été développés pour permettre leur utilisation. La clé est alors de permettre à différentes plateformes d'exploiter les capacités des autres et de partager facilement les données et les résultats afin de maximiser l'impact et d'éviter la duplication.

 

IPRD travaille avec l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et une société mondiale de plateformes logicielles pour créer des outils et des normes permettant aux intégrateurs de systèmes parrainés par le gouvernement ou par des donateurs de choisir des plateformes de manière interchangeable, en fonction des besoins et des préférences particuliers d'une géographie locale. Ces outils permettront par exemple aux prestataires d'intégrer les dernières directives de l'OMS dans un format lisible par une machine, et de partager des données entre plateformes en utilisant des protocoles FHIR à émergence rapide, et conduiront différentes solutions de plateforme vers une cohérence des performances et une interchangeabilité.

 
IPRD Solutions Digital Campaigns are in effect globally...
IPRD_Digital Campaigns FR 1.png

Une campagne numérique peut être simple, comme dans le cas de la distribution d'informations sur la planification familiale, ou complexe, comme dans le cas d'un programme de vaccination multidoses. En général, une campagne bien organisée peut comprendre un composant de modélisation et de contrôle de campagne, présenté à droite dans le diagramme, un composant d'intervention, illustré en bas, et un composant de rapport, montré à gauche, qui peut inclure des résultats ou des rapports existants des agences gouvernementales.

Une campagne numérique peut augmenter la qualité et l'ampleur des données circulant entre ces composants, ainsi que la précision des données, par exemple en incluant des résultats anonymisés au niveau individuel et en augmentant la résolution temporelle et géographique des données.

Les campagnes numériques peuvent être vues du point de vue des patients, des professionnels de santé et du personnel administratif qui peuvent faire partie d'une campagne, ainsi que du point de vue des agences gouvernementales, des donateurs et des groupes de recherche qui financent ou dépendent des résultats d'une campagne pour mesurer le succès ou planifier des interventions.

 

Les campagnes numériques peuvent également être vues du point de vue des campagnes numériques précédentes ou futures, de sorte que les données et les interventions des campagnes précédentes puissent être conçues et exploitées au niveau du patient individuel, que les campagnes ciblent un même secteur ou des secteurs de la santé différents.

 

À titre d'exemple de campagne numérique, nous avons ajouté SmartDocuments à notre plateforme SmartHealth pour fournir une solution opérationnelle totale, appelée SmartHealth RECOVERS, qui permet de disposer de programmes de vaccination COVID-19 efficaces dans les pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche inférieure (PRITI) et de générer des certificats de vaccination conformes à la norme DIVOC.

 
IPRD_PHR 1 FR.png

Des organisations de premier plan telles que les Pew Charitable Trusts, travaillant avec IPRD Solutions,

ont montré dans un rapport sur la mise en correspondance améliorée des patients que les patients et les professionnels de santé du monde entier souhaitaient accéder et partager l'accès aux dossiers de santé personnels (DSP) de manière sécurisée et précise, afin de permettre aux professionnels de santé d'être mieux informés et de fournir de meilleurs soins, quel que soit l'endroit où les patients consultent. Cependant, dans les pays à revenu intermédiaire de la tranche inférieure (PRITI) et ailleurs, les DSP n'existent souvent pas ou sont si étroitement conçus qu'ils nécessitent une intégration personnalisée et donc non évolutive pour pouvoir être utilisés dans d'autres secteurs verticaux de la santé ou des cas d'utilisation.

 

Nous avons développé une approche unificatrice en matière de DSP, qui prend en compte les dossiers conservés par le patient, les éléments cliniques sur le point de soin ou les bases de données de laboratoire nationales centralisées comme un continuum, avec des autorisations centrées sur le patient et des capacités de contrôle d'accès qui rendent le partage des enregistrements fondamentalement simple. Nous suivons cette stratégie d'unification pour d'autres paramètres pertinents en matière de DSP, ce qui apporte des capacités étonnantes et une puissance surprenante, que les DSP traditionnels ne permettent pas.

 
IPRD Solutions, working closely with the Hacey Health Initiative in Nigeria, has adapted and deployed a proven and scalable mobile/web based digital system for documenting and monitoring pregnancy related visits to Primary Health Centers (PHCs) and Community centers

IPRD, en étroite collaboration avec Hacey Health Initiative au Nigéria, a adapté et déployé un système numérique mobile/Web éprouvé et évolutif, conçu pour documenter et suivre les visites liées à la grossesse dans les centres de soins de santé primaires (SSP) et les centres communautaires. Notre déploiement initial a reçu l'approbation universelle des professionnels de santé et de l'équipe du ministère de la Santé de l'État d'Oyo au Nigéria. Nos équipes s'efforcent d'étendre cet accès à la majorité des centres de soins de santé primaires de l'état d'Oyo.

 
IPRD_HIV FR 1.png

Le dépistage du VIH à faible coût est une capacité majeure contribuant à la composante « Connaître son statut sérologique VIH » de l'objectif stratégique global 90/90/90 de l'OMS. Cependant, les fournitures de tests, notamment de tests de diagnostic rapide, ne sont pas aussi largement disponibles dans les communautés rurales comme KZN en Afrique du Sud. De plus, le protocole de l'OMS exige dans tous les cas un deuxième test supervisé avant que la séropositivité au VIH ne soit confirmée. IPRD et nos partenaires de WITS RHI, en Afrique du Sud, testent un processus d'évaluation des risques guidé par machine, réalisé sur des téléphones mobiles largement disponibles, venant en complément des capacités de tests de diagnostic rapide et permettant de boucler la toute dernière étape de l'objectif 90/90/90 de l'OMS.

 

Nous avons développé une capacité d'évaluation des risques liés au VIH pour mieux comprendre le degré de risque de contracter le VIH pour un individu. Nous collaborons avec WITS RHI, en Afrique du Sud, pour les essais et les validations de la partie scientifique. La première étape des essais cliniques visant à évaluer la faisabilité s'est achevée en février 2020, avec plus de 1000 participants. L'analyse des données a montré que les données démographiques, le comportement et les antécédents sexuels du participant, son comportement personnel et son mode de vie présentaient les corrélations les plus fortes avec le statut VIH. La deuxième étape de l'essai clinique est actuellement en cours dans plusieurs endroits en Afrique du Sud.

 
IPRD_Malaria 1 FR.png

Notre travail sur le paludisme s'est concentré sur la collecte et l'analyse de flux de données en temps réel pouvant générer des informations pour les corrections de trajectoire, ainsi que sur les stratégies personnalisées de contrôle et d'élimination du paludisme adaptées aux besoins de populations spécifiques dans des contextes environnementaux spécifiques [Mundel & Suzman].

 

Notre objectif est de parvenir à un impact disruptif, en développant et en déployant des systèmes basés sur des plateformes numériques qui permettent une modélisation, un diagnostic et une intervention ciblés en temps réel sur le paludisme, pour chaque village et chaque nation en Afrique subsaharienne et en Asie du Sud.

 

Par exemple, les soins de santé guidés par machine, rendus possibles par les smartphones et l'apprentissage automatique, peuvent utiliser le contexte géographique et temporel, y compris les diagnostics des patients et des villages voisins, pour améliorer les diagnostics au niveau local. Dans le même temps, les flux de données en temps réel peuvent mettre à jour et améliorer des modèles hautement sophistiqués et à plus long terme, développés au fil des décennies par de grandes organisations de modélisation scientifique telles que l'Imperial College de Londres.

Pour évaluer la faisabilité, une approche innovante et incrémentale d'apprentissage automatique a été mise au point et appliquée aux informations en lien avec les symptômes et les tests de diagnostic rapide (TDR) recueillis au Nigéria, et lues longitudinalement de façon à simuler la mise à jour quotidienne des classificateurs. Une comparaison entre un professionnel de santé communautaire expert/diagnostic du paludisme par approche logique avec 450 patients sur 3 mois dans 5 infrastructures de soins près de Kano, au Nigéria, et une approche incrémentielle d'apprentissage automatique et de diagnostic contextuel a montré une amélioration d'environ 20 % de la précision du diagnostic, mesurée par le score F1.

 
IPRD delivers simple mobile phone-based tools to obtain objective measures without the need for special training and minimizing or eliminating the need for equipment

Les mesures objectives, telles que la fréquence cardiaque ou le résultat d'un test de diagnostic rapide (TDR) peuvent considérablement faciliter l'évaluation ou le diagnostic. Cependant, l'obtention de telles mesures peut nécessiter un équipement et une formation spécialisés, et les résultats sont souvent perdus dans des archives papier. De plus, ils ne sont pas particulièrement utiles pour le suivi en temps réel, comme par exemple le suivi des flambées épidémiques, et pour l'attribution efficace de l'aide.

Nous fournissons des outils simples basés sur la téléphonie mobile pour obtenir des mesures objectives sans nécessiter de formation spéciale et en minimisant ou en éliminant le besoin d'équipement. Nous définissons et utilisons des normes basées sur le FHIR qui fournissent un modèle aux fabricants de dispositifs médicaux ou aux développeurs de logiciels pour fournir également leurs propres mesures objectives, et permettent également d'accéder aux données en temps réel, facilitant ainsi un suivi et un archivage des dossiers, même dans les régions les plus isolées.

 
IPRD_Data Standards 2 FR.png

Notre approche intègre la mise en place de services de données de santé de grande valeur, tels que l'identité du patient, le diagnostic guidé par machine et l'archivage sécurisé des dossiers de santé pour les communautés mal desservies, principalement dans les PRITI.

Cette approche peut être concrétisée en habilitant les intégrateurs locaux à développer des solutions de soins de santé à grande échelle, en sélectionnant et en combinant les modules logiciels et matériels existants sans avoir le besoin ni la capacité de développer les modules eux-mêmes. Nous pensons que l'adoption en masse des réseaux numériques, de la téléphonie mobile et des technologies informatiques a mis cette approche à la portée de tous, y compris des communautés les plus mal desservies

Une étape essentielle pour y parvenir est la spécification et l'adoption d'API et de normes de données qui permettent l'interopérabilité ou la communication entre les services de données de différents fournisseurs ou qui exécutent différentes fonctions. Nous pensons que les normes existantes, telles que OpenHIE et DHIS2, peuvent être complétées par des normes basées sur le FHIR© nouvellement développées pour fournir des capacités habilitantes pour des cas d'utilisation uniques, spécifiques des communautés mal desservies dans les PRITI, se traduisant par des solutions mieux adaptées aux limites de bande passante et de fiabilité des réseaux de téléphonie mobile dans ces régions.

IPRD travaille avec Google sur un SDK pour la prise en charge d'Android FHIR. IPRD a également développé des applications et des normes de données pour permettre à différentes capacités de mesure objective (telles que la température, la pression artérielle, les résultats de RDT) de communiquer et de s'intégrer de la même manière aux flux de travail de diagnostic guidés par machine.

IPRD Solutions: Innovation in digital technologies is transforming entire industries in the developed world. IPRD believes that such innovations can also transform the way that healthcare is delivered in the developing world, resulting in greater impact at lower cost

Innovation in digital technologies is transforming entire industries in the developed world.

IPRD Solutions believes that such innovations can also transform the way that healthcare is delivered in the developing world, resulting in greater impact at lower cost.

We develop and adapt high-impact digital
health technologies for sustained social good.

IPRD Solutions has built an extensive network of leading healthcare professionals in the research, commercial and public health communities to help us identify and build innovative digital healthcare technologies that have a high potential for impact on global health.

IPRD Solutions develops and adapts high-impact digital health technologies for sustained social good

Our Team works closely with both patients and healthcare workers in both the public and private sectors to innovate disruptive solutions now enabled by the mass commoditization of powerful digital hardware and software capabilities.

We strive to understand the unique challenges of building solutions that serve patients at scale.

Logo_Home_Icon.png
We have built innovation centers located strategically close to users, enabling the development of highly-localized solutions, rapid problem solving, and direct feedback, while at the same time leveraging core technological capabilities we are developing that are designed for scalable deployment anywhere.
We are headquartered in New York. Our innovation centers are located in Bangalore and Johannesburg with projects distributed across all 3 locations.
IPRD Solutions Johannesburg office

OUR WORK

IPRD Solutions has innovation centers located strategically close to users, enabling the development of highly-localized solutions, rapid problem solving, and direct feedback, while at the same time leveraging core technological capabilities we are developing that are designed for scalable deployment anywhere.
IPRD Solutions SmartHealth platform capabilities can manage mass patient vaccination in pop-up vaccination centers in LMI countriesCOVID-19

COVID-19 has exposed the strengths and weaknesses of healthcare systems throughout the world.

 

IPRD has applied its significant experience and technical capabilities to where it can help most.

 

IPRD has worked on advising on bluetooth contact-tracing standards, MITRE’s nationally-available monitoring, reporting and analysis platform, developing vaccination certificate standards, and has adapted its SmartHealth platform capabilities to develop SmartHealth RECOVERS (Rapidly-deployable and Extensible COvid-19 Vaccination opERational Solution) to manage mass patient vaccination in pop-up vaccination centers in LMI countries.

 
IPRD Solutions de-centralized approach to identity focuses on patient matching that does not depend on coordination or linkage to centralized systems or national registeries

Knowing the identity of a patient is critical to monitoring their health history over time. This capability is particularly important for early detection of disease by comparing current information to a baseline, for treatment of chronic diseases like HIV & TB, as well as for reducing loss-to-follow up and to avoid expensive re-testing. However, in many LMI countries in particular, identifiers do not exist, are not unique, or are linked to national registries that have nothing to do with healthcare. This can generate perceived and real concerns within a country’s population related to issues such as lack of inclusiveness, for migratory populations near borders for example, and the potential for Government overreach and misuse of identifiers.

 

We have developed a decentralized approach to identification that focuses on patient matching and that does not depend on coordination or linkage to centralized systems or national registries although they can be used if available. At the same time, the approach enables independent clinics or even patients themselves to provide others access to their matching information, with the patient’s permission, to enable patient matching in diverse and disconnected environments. 

 

In addition, we have developed an approach called Federated Biometrics that eliminates the aggregation of large numbers of biometrics held by a single custodian, and reduces or even eliminates GDPR compliance and other regulations, both of which have been real and perceived barriers to the deployment of biometrics to address important use cases in global health at scale.

 

PLATFORMS

IPRD Solutions platform approach to a digital health solution enables a high degree of configurability without the need to redevelop core functional modules

A platform approach to a digital health solution enables a high degree of configurability without the need to redevelop core functional modules. A single platform can support diverse health verticals, such as maternal health, HIV, family planning, and malaria, while sharing common information such as identity or family survey information. This enables digital health solutions to scale while maintaining quality of care and reducing cost.

 

At the same time, platform solutions are often developed organically with a focus on a particular geography or health vertical, and in addition, training and other processes may have already been developed to use them. The key then is to enable different platforms to leverage each other’s capabilities and to easily share data and results to maximize impact and avoid duplication.

 

IPRD is working with the World Health Organization (WHO) and a global software platform company to build tools and standards to allow Government-sponsored or donor-sponsored system integrators to choose platforms interchangeably based on particular needs and preferences in a local geography. For example, such tools will allow providers to ingest the latest WHO guidelines in a machine-readable format, and to share data between platforms using rapidly-emerging FHIR protocols, and will drive different platform solutions to consistency of performance and interchangeability.

 
IPRD Solutions Digital Campaigns are in effect globally...
IPRD Solutions Digital Campaigns are in effect globally...

A digital campaign may be as simple as the distribution of family planning information, or as complex as a multi-dose vaccination program. Generally, a well-organized campaign may comprise a modeling and campaign control component, shown to the right in the block diagram, an intervention component, shown on the bottom, and a reporting component, shown to the left, which may include existing outcomes or reports from Government agencies.

A digital campaign can increase the quality and magnitude of the data flowing between these components as well as increase the precision of data, such as including anonymized outcomes at the individual level as well as increasing the temporal and geographical resolution of the data.

Digital Campaigns can be seen from the perspective of patients, health workers and administrative staff who may be part of a campaign, as well as from the perspective of Governmental agencies, donors, and research groups that either fund or depend on the results of a campaign to measure success or plan interventions.

 

Digital Campaigns can also be seen from the perspective of previous or future Digital Campaigns so that data and interventions from previous campaigns can be built upon and leveraged at the individual patient level, regardless of whether the campaigns were in the same or different health verticals.

 

As an example of a Digital Campaign, we have added SmartDocuments to our SmartHealth platform to provide a total operational solution called SmartHealth RECOVERS for enabling effective COVID-19 vaccination programs throughout lower-to-middle (LMI) countries and that generates DIVOC-standard vaccination certificates.

 
IPRD Solutions has developed a unifying approach for PHRs that considers records stored by the patient, point-of-care clinics, or centralized national laboratory databases as a continuum, with patient-centric permissions and access control capabilities that make record sharing inherently simple

Leading organizations such as the Pew Charitable Trusts, working with IPRD Solutions,

have shown in a report on Enhanced Patient Matching that both patients and healthcare practitioners everywhere want to access and share personal health records (PHRs) securely and accurately so healthcare practitioners can be better informed and provide better care, anywhere the patient visits. However, in lower-middle-income (LMI) countries and elsewhere, PHRs often don’t exist or are so narrowly-designed that they require custom and therefore non-scalable integration for use in other health verticals or use cases.

 

We have developed a unifying approach for PHRs that considers records stored by the patient, point-of-care clinics, or centralized national laboratory databases as a continuum, with patient-centric permissions and access control capabilities that make record sharing inherently simple. We follow this unification strategy for other parameters relevant for PHRs, which brings some surprising and powerful capabilities not possible with traditional PHRs.

 
IPRD Solutions, working closely with the Hacey Health Initiative in Nigeria, has adapted and deployed a proven and scalable mobile/web based digital system for documenting and monitoring pregnancy related visits to Primary Health Centers (PHCs) and Community centers

IPRD, working closely with the Hacey Health Initiative in Nigeria, has adapted and deployed a proven and scalable mobile/web based digital system for documenting and monitoring pregnancy related visits to Primary Health Centers (PHCs) and Community centers. Our initial deployment has received universal approval from health workers and the team at the Department of Health at the State of Oyo in Nigeria. Our teams are working to expand this access to the majority  of the Primary Health Centers across the state of Oyo.

 
IPRD Solutions has developed an HIV Risk Assessment capability to better understand the risk level of an individual to contract HIV. We are working with WITS RHI, South Africa for the trials and validations of the science

Low-cost HIV testing is a major capability contributing to the “Know your HIV Status” component of WHO’s overall 90/90/90 strategic goal. However, testing supplies such as RDTs are not as widely available in rural communities like KZN in South Africa. In addition, WHO protocol in any case requires a second supervised test before a positive HIV status is confirmed. IPRD and our partners at WITS RHI, South Africa, are testing a machine-guided risk assessment process run on widely-available mobile phones in order to supplement RDT testing capabilities and to complete the last mile of WHO’s 90/90/90 goal.

 

We have developed an HIV Risk Assessment capability to better understand the risk level of an individual to contract HIV. We are working with WITS RHI, South Africa for the trials and validations of the science. The first stage of clinical trials to ascertain feasibility was completed in Feb 2020 with over 1000 participants. Data analysis showed that the participant’s Demographics, Sexual Behavior & History, Personal Behavior & Lifestyle had the strongest correlations to HIV status. The second stage of the clinical trial is currently underway in multiple locations across South Africa.

 
IPRD's work on malaria has focused on the collection and analysis of real-time data streams that can generate insights for course corrections, as well as customized control and elimination strategies for malaria that are adapted to the needs of specific populations in specific environmental settings

Our work on malaria has focused on the collection and analysis of real-time data streams that can generate insights for course corrections, as well as customized control and elimination strategies for malaria that are adapted to the needs of specific populations in specific environmental settings [Mundel & Suzman].

 

Our goal is to achieve disruptive impact by developing and deploying digital platform-based systems that enable real-time, targeted malaria modeling, diagnosis and intervention for every village and nation in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.

 

For example, machine-guided healthcare enabled by smartphones and machine learning can use geographical and temporal context, including diagnoses from nearby patients and villages, to improve diagnoses locally. At the same time real-time data streams can update and improve highly sophisticated and longer-term models developed over decades by major scientific modeling organizations such as Imperial College, London.

To evaluate feasibility, an innovative, incremental machine-learning approach was developed and applied to symptom and RDT information collected in Nigeria and played back longitudinally to simulate daily updating of classifiers. A comparison of an expert community health worker / logic-driven malaria diagnosis with 450 patients over 3 months in 5 clinics near Kano, Nigeria, versus an incremental machine-learning and context-based diagnostic approach showed an approximately 20% improvement in diagnostic accuracy as measured by F1 score. 

 
IPRD delivers simple mobile phone-based tools to obtain objective measures without the need for special training and minimizing or eliminating the need for equipment

Objective measures such as heart rate or a Rapid Diagnostic Test (RDT) result can dramatically aid assessment or diagnosis. However, obtaining such measures may require specialized equipment and training, and the results are often lost to paper records. Moreover, they are not particularly useful for real-time surveillance - monitoring for outbreaks, and effectively allocating aid.

 

We deliver simple mobile phone-based tools to obtain objective measures without the need for special training and minimizing or eliminating the need for equipment. We are defining and using FHIR-based standards which provides a template for medical device manufacturers or software developers to also provide their own objective measures, and also makes it possible to access data in real time, enabling  surveillance and record storage even in the most remote environments.

 
IPRD is working with Google on an SDK for Android FHIR support. IPRD has also developed APIs and data standards to enable different objective measurement capabilities (such as temperature, blood pressure, RDT results) to communicate and integrate in the same way with machine-guided diagnostic workflows

Our vision includes enabling high-value, health-based data services, such as patient identity, machine-guided-diagnosis, and secure health-record storage for underserved communities primarily in LMI countries.

The vision can be realized by empowering local integrators to develop healthcare solutions at scale, by selecting and combining existing software and hardware modules without the need or capability to develop the modules themselves. We believe that the explosive adoption of digital networks, mobile phone and computing technologies has put this vision within reach even in the most underserved communities.

A core step in achieving this is the specification and adoption of APIs and data standards that enable interoperability or communication between data services from different vendors or that perform different functions. We believe that existing standards such as OpenHIE and DHIS2 can be supplemented with newly-developed FHIR©-based standards to provide enabling capabilities for use cases unique to underserved communities in LMI countries, resulting in solutions that are best suited for the bandwidth and reliability limitations of mobile phone networks in such locations. 

IPRD is working with Google on an SDK for Android FHIR support. IPRD has also developed APIs and data standards to enable different objective measurement capabilities (such as temperature, blood pressure, RDT results) to communicate and integrate in the same way with machine-guided diagnostic workflows.